

## Technical Bulletin Division of Public and Behavioral Health



Date: December 13, 2018

Topic: Vaccine Required at Minimum Recommended Age for Students Enrolling into Early Education Programs, Preschool and Kindergarten

Contact: Shannon Bennett, Immunization Program Manager or Pam Forest, MD, Provider Quality Assurance Manager

To: Immunization Providers, School Nurses, County Health Officers, Health Care Quality and Compliance, Local Health Districts and Nevada Child Care Facilities, Department of Education, School District Administrators, Boards of Trustees of School Districts, Charter School Officials, and Private School Officials

According to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 392.435, 394.192, and Nevada Administrative Codes (NAC) 392.105, children must prove immunity to Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Poliomyelitis, Rubella, Rubeola (Measles), Mumps, Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, and Varicella prior to enrollment into a public, private, or charter school in Nevada, unless excused because of a religious belief or medical condition.

Starting at the beginning of the 2019/2020 school year, in addition to these requirements, it is now necessary for students enrolling into early education programs, preschool and kindergarten in Nevada to receive all required vaccines at the youngest recommended age per the recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). For example, the fifth dose of DTaP is recommended between four (4) and six (6) years of age. Starting at the beginning of the 2019/2020 school year, the fifth dose of DTaP vaccine is now required at age four (4) years if the child is enrolled in a school in Nevada. Please review the table on the next page for further examples. Any child who is behind on Nevada's required immunizations must be brought up-to-date utilizing the ACIP Catch Up Schedule.

Immunizing students at the youngest recommended age further protects the students and their peers at the earliest time possible. For example, the fifth dose of DTaP, when given at four (4) years of age, increases antibody levels and decreases the risk of older children transmitting the disease to younger siblings and/or classmates who are too young to have completed the vaccine series.

For more information regarding the ACIP immunization schedule please visit: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/index.html.

Required Immunization	Age Range	Dose Number	Age Required*
Hepatitis B	6-18 months	3	6 months
DTaP	15-18 months	4	15 months
DTaP	4-6 years	5	4 years
Polio (IPV)	6-18 months	3	6 months
Polio (IPV)	4-6 years	4	4 years
MMR	12-15 months	1	12 months
MMR	4-6 years	2	4 years
Varicella	12-15 months	1	12 months
Varicella	4-6 years	2	4 years
Hepatitis A	12-23 months	1	12 months
Hepatitis A	18-23 months	2	18 months

<sup>\*</sup>Age required if minimum interval has passed

Ihsan Azzam, PhD, MD Chief Medical Officer

Julie Kotchevar, PhD DPBH Administrator